Original theatre in English

Romeo and Juliet (2017)

Romeo and Juliet

Roméo et Juliette

qui vous est présenté par la Trivial Muffins Bakery

En 2017, le Stadsschouwburg (théâtre municipal) de Leuven a fêté son 150ème anniversaire avec une grande fête ! La toute première représentation dans ce magnifique bâtiment n'était autre que le Roméo et Juliette de William Shakespeare, qui était alors joué en français. Pour la célébration de cet anniversaire, 30CC a organisé un marathon de 24 heures de la célèbre scène du balcon. Pas moins de 96 versions différentes ont été présentées, par des amateurs et des professionnels, chacun mettant en scène dans son propre style un spectacle de 15 minutes.

Shakespeare en ‹ Original Pronunciation ›

23 septembre 2017 (16:15)

Comment sonnait l'anglais d'il y a 500 ans, à l'époque de William Shakespeare ? Dans une mise en scène de Tyler Dickinson, avec Ivana Vranjes (Juliette) et Jeffrey Vansuyt (Roméo), et avec les conseils de Ben Crystal (Shakespeare's Globe, Passion in Practice, Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard), Trivial Muffins a donné le coup d'envoi de la fête du Stadsschouwburg et a fait découvrir à Leuven la magnificence de la « Original Pronunciation [prononciation originale] » dans une représentation unique de la scène du balcon.

Photos

2017 - Romeo and Juliet

Spectacle

Team

Mise en scène Tyler Dickinson
Coach accent Ben Crystal
Romeo Jeffrey Vansuyt
Juliet Ivana Vranjes
Nurse Lies Huysegoms

Roméo et Juliette : l'opéra de Gounod

24 septembre 2017 (15:45)

En conclusion du programme, Hadrien Baudot (Roméo) et Kristien Nijs (Juliette), soutenus par le Trivial Muffins Orchestra nouvellement formé sous la direction du très talentueux Stijn Paredis, ont présenté des extraits de l'opéra de Charles Gounod, qui, ce n'est pas un hasard, a inauguré le Stadsschouwburg en 1867.

Photos

2017 - Romeo et Juliette

Spectacle

Team

Production Hadrien Baudot
Roméo Hadrien Baudot
Juliette Kristien Nijs

Orchestre

Chef d'orchestre Stijn Paredis
Violon 1 Karen Raeymaekers
Gert-Jan Clerx
Jeffrey Vansuyt
Christophe Cappuyns
Violon 2 Sander Schobers
Roosmarij Clerx
Ivana Vranjes
Amanda Dierx
Alto Marjolein Beckers
Maartje Everaert
Violoncelle Ellen Van Caillie
Laura Verbert
Isabelle Lutz
Charlotte De Mondt
Hautbois Maarten Van den Broeck
Clarinette Arne Herman
Basson Stefanie Lombaert
Nils Nijs
Flûte Tine Huybrechts
Lies Eykens
Cor Ward Swinnen
An De Cleyn
Trompette Wouter Quetin
Harpe Ine Rens
Contrebasse Koben Sprengers

Original theatre in English

Romeo and Juliet (2017)

Romeo and Juliet

brought to you by the Trivial Muffins Bakery

In 2017, the Stadsschouwburg (city theatre) of Leuven celebrated its 150th anniversary with a grand feast! The first ever performance in this magnificent building was none other than William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, which was performed in French back then. For the anniversary celebration, 30CC organised a 24-hour marathon of the famous balcony scene. No fewer than 96 different versions were on display, by amateurs and professionals alike, each putting their own spin on the scene in a 15-minute performance.

Shakespeare in Original Pronunciation

23rd of September, 2017 (16:15)

How did English sound 500 years ago, in the time of William Shakespeare? In a scene directed by Tyler Dickinson, starring Ivana Vranjes (Juliet) and Jeffrey Vansuyt (Romeo), and with the guidance of Ben Crystal (Shakespeare's Globe, Passion in Practice, Shakespeare on Toast: Getting a Taste for the Bard), Trivial Muffins kicked off the Stadsschouwburg's celebration and introduced Leuven to the magnificence of 'Original Pronunciation' in a unique performance of the balcony scene.

Pictures

2017 - Romeo and Juliet

Performance

Team

Director Tyler Dickinson
Accent Coach Ben Crystal
Romeo Jeffrey Vansuyt
Juliet Ivana Vranjes
Nurse Lies Huysegoms

Roméo et Juliette: the opera by Gounod

24th of September, 2017 (15:45)

In a stunning conclusion to the programme, Hadrien Baudot (Roméo) and Kristien Nijs (Juliette), supported by the newly-formed Trivial Muffins Orchestra under the direction of the extremely talented Stijn Paredis, presented excerpts from the opera by Charles Gounod, which, not coincidentally, was the very version to famously open the Stadsschouwburg in 1867.

Pictures

2017 - Romeo et Juliette

Performance

Team

Producer Hadrien Baudot
Roméo Hadrien Baudot
Juliette Kristien Nijs

Orchestra

Conductor Stijn Paredis
Violin 1 Karen Raeymaekers
Gert-Jan Clerx
Jeffrey Vansuyt
Christophe Cappuyns
Violin 2 Sander Schobers
Roosmarij Clerx
Ivana Vranjes
Amanda Dierx
Viola Marjolein Beckers
Maartje Everaert
Cello Ellen Van Caillie
Laura Verbert
Isabelle Lutz
Charlotte De Mondt
Oboe Maarten Van den Broeck
Clarinet Arne Herman
Bassoon Stefanie Lombaert
Nils Nijs
Flute Tine Huybrechts
Lies Eykens
Horn Ward Swinnen
An De Cleyn
Trumpet Wouter Quetin
Harp Ine Rens
Contrabass Koben Sprengers